Yoga

by sarahthevagabond

20120716-082451.jpg

It’s not exactly what you think it to be. Like Tai Chi, it’s an ancient form of manipulating energy. Western culture has changed it into an easily accessible form of exercise and relaxation, but it’s much more than that. Suffice to say though, if you do yoga without having any knowledge of what it does energetically, it will still give you energetic benefits along with all of those physical benefits western culture uses it for.

Every human being has an invisible aura around them – which consists of their energetic body and more. In this energy body, we have 7 main energy centers called the chakras. Yoga teaches you to uses the Asanas (poses) to balance out the polarity (Yin and Yang) of your chakras. Each pose brings different forms of energy (cosmic – universal and telluric – earth) into different chakras.

The main aim of yoga is to purify the body and the mind, so that one can sit for long periods in meditation and eventually become enlightened.
There are many purification techniques and life philosophies that go along with this path of spirituality. Like the obvious – non violence, non theft, vegetarianism and more. It teaches you how to harness beneficial energy which you can use to heal yourself.

Of course, you don’t have to become spiritual to do yoga, you don’t even have to believe in what it can do, it’s a science in itself – if practiced frequently, spirituality and the mind will naturally open to the practitioner. Yoga has taught me many things about life and the way I live my life, and it’s a lifestyle I’m going to carry on everyday. It’s a foolproof way of staying healthy, physically fit, aware and mentally balanced.

So, if you’re the kind of person who questions our existence; if you are interested in space, time, the universe; if you’re interested in becoming as healthy as you possibly could ever be, and are still open to the idea of spirituality, then this is the life path for you.

The 4 week course consisted of two 2 hour yoga lessons per day, plus a 2 hour lecture on something new each night, for 6 days a week. It was very intensive, and some days were difficult as we were each going through personal purification of the energies within us, but by week 4: My mind control had improved, my body was 20 times more flexible, I was more conscious of my body and my health, and I felt fresh and blissfully happy – like I had been reborn, and had opened up my mind to a whole new perspective.

Overall, probably one of the most amazing 4 weeks of my life.

